ELLE’S READING CHALLENGE – MARCH – MAY

Once again, I’ve neglected my blogging duties, but I haven’t been shirking my reading. Starting a new job with an hour commute each way means that I’ve had a lot of time to catch up, and make some headway in the list.

From March until the end of May, I’ve been reading some of the shorter books on the list, as well as plodding my way through Don Quixote. Mostly these were books I had read previously, but as ever I discovered new things when reading them with fresh eyes. I also finally finished Don Quixote!

Quick reviews below:

March:

Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde – Robert Louis Stevenson – Uncanny, dark, twisted,

Romeo & Juliet – William Shakespeare – Tragic, beautiful, poetic

April:

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold – Heartbreaking, dreamy, hopeful,

Othello – William Shakespeare – Bitter, malevolent, machiavellian

A Room of One’s Own – Virginia Woolf – Quotable, feminist doctrine

The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger – Involving but slightly disturbing

May:

Don Quixote – Cervantes – Absurd, amusing, but also absurdly long!

I’ve just started Shakespeare’s A Comedy of Errors, and realised I’d never read it before. I’ll let you know what I think and give you updates on anything else I read 🙂

In the meantime, keep reading!

37 down 301 to go!

Leave a Reply

