ELLE’S READING CHALLENGE – MAY PART 2 – AUGUST

It’s been a while since my last post, so I thought I’d update anyone who is interested on my reading challenge progress. Whilst I haven’t been blogging, I have been reading quite a bit, so, to keep things brief, here are my three word reviews on the books I’ve completed from May through to the end of August:

Macbeth – William Shakespeare (May) – Witty, Witchy, Wonderful

1984 – George Orwell (May) – Disturbing, Dystopian Nightmare

The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand (June) – Overblown, Overwritten, Underwhelming

Atonement – Ian McEwan (July) – Sad, Sweeping, Epic

The Godfather – Mario Puzo (August) – Brutal, Gripping, Brilliant

The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald (August) – Classic American Literature.

Like Rory, I’ve started carrying a book around with me, and besides keeping me from being bored or constantly on my phone, I’ve found it sometimes starts a conversation. On Saturday nights I work on cloakroom in a nightclub, and when I was reading Atonement, girls kept asking where I was up to, and guys kept asking if it was as good as the film. The menfolk  loved that I was reading The Godfather, whilst The Great Gatsby earned me grudging respect from some guy who thought I’d be reading 50 Shades of Grey! Since I intend to read everything on the list, I’m not too bothered by what people think about my literary choices (the size of the print is more of a consideration in the dim lighting!) but I do find the perceptions of me based on what I’m reading interesting. We’re told never to judge a book by its cover, although of course we all do, but I’m definitely being judged by my books!

I’ve just started reading Stephen King’s Carrie and, so far, I’m not loving it! – full review to follow.

14 down, 324 to go!

Leave a Reply

